Thailand is part of the Southeast Asian mainland. The Lao People’s Democratic Republic lies to the North, the Kingdom of Cambodia to the East, the Union of Myanmar to the North and West and Malaysia to the South. Two seas, the Andaman and the Gulf of Thailand, bracket the country to the West and to the East respectively. Thailand covers an area of approximately 514,000 sq. km: 99.6% of it land and 0.4% marine territory. Approximately 62.8 million, with many ethnic groups.

Bangkok is the capital; Ayutthaya, Sukhothai, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Hat Yai, Khon Kaen, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Pattaya, Phuket, Samui, Ubon Ratchathani and Udon Thani are major cities.Approximately 62.8 million, with many ethnic groups.

Tropical, with an average low temperature of 23.5C and a high of 32.8C. Three seasons: monsoon from July to October, cool from November until February and hot from March until June.

Source: Thailand Executive Diary 2008